Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards Presented to Eight Honorees for Reducing Energy Waste

LANSING, Mich. —Eight individuals and organizations from across Michigan were recognized at the Governor’s Energy Excellence Award (GEEA) for their extraordinary efforts to reduce energy waste. The winners were announced by Gov. Rick Snyder and honored at a ceremony in Detroit on October 19.

“Reducing energy waste, along with ensuring energy reliability and advancing clean energy, is a key component of Michigan’s energy policy," said the governor. “We’re proud of the steps taken by the individuals and organizations we’re honoring, because collectively they illustrate what can be done to reduce energy waste and save money, both of which strengthen Michigan's economy.” 

Winners of the Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards by category are:

Best Residential Project

Tom Tishler, Kalamazoo

Best Public Project

Ewen-Trout Creek School District, Ewen

Best Agriculture Project

Friske Orchards, Charlevoix

Best Industrial/Manufacturing Project

HyCAL Corporation, Gibraltar

Best Commercial Project (Private)

Gateway Village, Sturgis

Contractor of the Year

Better World Builders, LLC, Kalamazoo

Innovator of the Year

Holland Energy Fund, Holland

Best Communication or Education Program

Consumers Energy, Okemos

The GEEA winners’ energy solutions ranged from improving existing structures with energy-efficient, state-of-the-art heating, cooling and lighting systems to constructing new buildings, all with a goal of reducing energy waste and improving overall sustainability.

Also recognized were 15 award finalists:

Marti and Tom Burbeck, Ann Arbor (Residential)

Sandra Keirnan, Holland (Residential)

Grand Valley Farms, Rives Junction (Agriculture)

Sklarczyk Seed Farm, Johannesburg (Agriculture)

Verso Corporation, Escanaba (Industrial/Manufacturing)

First Housing Corporation, Lansing (Commercial Private)

Islamic Center of America, Dearborn (Commercial Private)

Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, Kalamazoo (Public)

Public Libraries of Saginaw, Saginaw (Public)

Don Earl Heating & A/C, Sault Ste. Marie (Contractor of the Year)

Medler Electric Company, Alma (Contractor of the Year)

Walt Dindoffer, Temperance (Innovator of the Year)

Carla Walker-Miller, Detroit (Innovator of the Year)

GreenHome Institute, Grand Rapids (Communication/Education Program)

The Heat and Warmth Fund, Detroit (Communication/Education Program)

Four other organizations received honorable mentions:

Nash Greenhouses, LLC, Kalamazoo (Agriculture)

Jackson National Life Insurance Company, Lansing (Commercial)

Ann Arbor Housing Commission, Ann Arbor (Public)

Southwest Housing Solutions, Detroit (Innovator of the Year)

Information about the honorees’ innovative energy solutions can be found at:

Awards Contact

Liz Boyd, APR

Liz Boyd Public Relations